I b’aint dead, updated

But my laptop is very poorly, my SIL is hoping to resuscitate it, in the mean time I have borrowed my DD’s laptop.

Unfortunately I seem to have lost access to MSE & Facebook, neither of these recognise my login, I’m hoping this blog post will work and enable me to update everyone.

I went to hospital on Friday to have a colonoscopy, to have this procedure it is necessary to swallow 2 large doses of laxative during the day before the hospital visit. I took the first dose between 1 and 2 o’clock and the 2nd dose between 6 and 7 o’clock in the evening. Unfortunately the first dose didn’t start to work until 9pm so I got very little sleep and therefore had plenty of time to worry myself silly about the forthcoming procedure and its outcome.

I have a huge bruise on the back of my hand where the anesthetic was introduced none too gently and I spent most of the afternoon after the hospital visit asleep.

It seems I have diverticulitis, which should be manageable with diet and/or medication, a biopsy was also taken and the results will be through in 2 to 3 weeks.

I was saying about the 1st laxative taking a few hours to take effect, well the 2nd dose didn’t work until about 5 o’clock, I’d been warned that when the camera was shoved up my bottom they also add large quantities of air, this means that you are encouraged to pass wind frequently after the procedure. This is fine until you combine this with the delayed effect of the laxative. Lets just say that the toilet floor has now been scrubbed and bleached to within an inch of its life

8 thoughts on “I b’aint dead, updated

  1. It came thru on fb Sue. Glad you’re ok (as can be), sorry I haven’t managed to get round yet, you know how it is?! I had one of those and biopsy, but unfortunately was awake!,not nice when the laxative works…say no more! Hopefully meds will get you back on track, keep smiling xxx

  2. Thank heavens you’re relatively okay. I’ve missed your posts. Much love and best healing wishes from New Orleans. I’d send you a care package of cajun food, but that might not be the smartest thing to do just now.

  3. Glad you are back. Still finding the humor in life and writing about it.
    Feel better soon. I hope your computer troubles are soon fixed.

  4. The diverticulosis is easy to live with. I’ve had it for the last decade. Avoid food with small seeds. Kiwis, strawberries, raspberries. My life improved 100% when I gave up bananas.

    There are some really good drugs for the bowel cramping. Buscopan is a life saver at times.

    Have you tried putting cold, damp facecloths on you bruise.

    Good luck on the biopsy results, I get mine next week.

Leave a Reply

